Return to site

3rd Annual KODAK Film Awards

Academy Award® Winner Adam McKay to Be Honored with the Inaugural KODAK Lifetime Achievement Award

Drew Goddard, Alex Ross Perry, Charlotte Bruus Christensen, Chayse Irvin, AMC’s The Walking Dead, Brantley Gutierrez, Grant Singer, Jason Wise, FotoKem, New Beverly Cinema, Giles Duley, Tacita Dean and Norman Seeff to be honored at the 2019 KODAK Film Awards on Friday, Feb 15, 2019

“It’s been another amazing year for celluloid with movies shot on Film garnering 32 Academy Award nominations, 61 Critics’ Choice nominations, 26 Golden Globes nominations, 13 acceptances at Cannes, 7 acceptances at TIFF, and 14 Indie Spirit Awards nominations”​

Steve Bellamy, President of Kodak Motion Picture and Entertainment, announced that the third annual Kodak Film Awards will take place in Downtown Los Angeles on February 15.

Academy Award® winning writer/director/producer Adam McKay will be the first recipient of the KODAK Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes an individual who has created an extraordinary body of highly successful and internationally acclaimed motion picture art during their career. McKay’s VICE (Annapurna Pictures), a subversively comedic look at former Vice President Dick Cheney’s rise to become the most powerful VP in history has received 8 Academy Award, 6 BAFTA and Golden Globe nominations and marks his 6th feature shot on 35mm film. Most recently, McKay, a double-nominee at this year’s DGA Awards, won for Best Dramatic Series for SUCCESSION (HBO), also shot on film.

“I can’t wait to celebrate the magic of film at the KODAK Film Awards. I count myself very lucky to have studios and HBO back me in using Film for almost every project I’ve directed,” said McKay. “Film is an unmatchable and emotive medium, and a secret weapon to making better movies and television. I am truly honored to be recognized by Kodak.”

“There has been incredible growth in Film adoption across the board, with especially staggering growth in 8mm and 16mm formats from next generation auteurs. The best commercial and music video directors are regularly shooting Film again, and there are even 6 major television series on Film today!” said Bellamy. “We look forward to taking this night to honor many of those who made 2018 such a great year for Filmic arts and motion picture, and another incredible year for the medium and the artists who shoot it”.

Last years awards saw filmmakers including Sean Baker, Edgar Wright, Luca Guadagnino and Dee Rees, honored at the Awards Ceremony. Baker, who shot The Florida Project on Film, testified, “I’m an advocate of all mediums — it’s a larger canvas for us as artists — but we have to keep in mind that celluloid film is what created this wonderful art form, and we have to keep it alive. “It’s perhaps our duty right now to talk to our producers, to talk to our financiers, talk to our studios, and demand shooting on Film,” he continued, to applause from the capacity crowd. Several of the honorees and presenters used the event to urge support for Film’s continued use.

KODAK has expanded the 2019 awards to recognize more accomplishments in the visual arts, including industry partners in motion picture, still photography and other filmic art categories.

The 2019 Kodak Film Awards will also recognize the following highly accomplished artists and industry partners:

  • Auteur Awards – Drew Goddard (Bad Times at the El Royale) and Alex Ross Perry (Her Smell)
  • Cinematography Awards – Charlotte Bruus Christensen (A Quiet Place, Fences, The Girl on The Train) and Chayse Irvin (BlacKKKlansman and Beyonce’s Lemonade)
  • Television Series of the Year – AMC’s The Walking Dead (shot on 16mm and 35mm film for all 9 seasons to date)
  • Music Film Directors of the Year – Grant Singer and Brantley Gutierrez
  • Documentarian of the Year – Jason Wise
  • Photochemical Laboratory of the Year – FotoKem
  • Cinema of the Year – New Beverly Cinema
  • Icon Award –Norman Seeff
  • Visual Artist Award – Tacita Dean
  • Humanitarian Award – Giles Duley

Additionally, Kodak celebrates motion pictures shot on film in 2018, especially those who have been heavily recognized during this award season including:

A Quiet Place, BlaKkKlansman, Boy Erased, Christopher Robin, Escape at Dannemora, First Man, Mid’90s, Mission: Impossible - Fallout, Ready Player One, Shoplifters, Succession, Suspiria, The Favourite, The Front Runner, The Old Man and The Gun, Vox Lux, Vice, Westworld, Widows.

About Adam McKay

In 2015, McKay and Charles Randolph adapted Michael Lewis’s New York Times best-selling book, THE BIG SHORT,which went on to receive Academy Award, BAFTA, Golden Globe nominations for Best Picture and won the 2016 PGA for Best Picture. McKay earned Academy Award, BAFTA and Golden Globe nominations for Best Director, and he and Randolph won Best Adapted Screenplay at the Academy Awards, BAFTA, WGA and USC Scripter Awards. Initially, McKay made his name in the comedy world as a founding member of the Upright Citizens Brigade. In 1995, McKay and Will Ferrell happened to start on the same day at Saturday Night Live, where McKay remained for six years and became Head Writer. McKay and Ferrell’s time at SNL led to successful collaborations that established their unique absurdist style on the now classic Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (2004) followed by the hit Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (2006). Since forming their company Gary Sanchez Productions in 2006, McKay has consistently entertained audiences worldwide with a string of movies, including Step Brothers (2008), The Other Guys (2010) and Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (2013).

For details on inexpensive 35mm Film prints, click HERE.

Highest quality prints, equivalent in price to a DCP.